New Project
General Information
Clicking "New project" starts the process for creating a new project.
The following input form then opens:
Tab: General
Fields marked with an orange asterisk are required, while fields that are not marked are optional.
Select the structure; this automatically inserts the client abbreviation in the corresponding fields:
In the screenshot above, 1. the (now grayed-out) button New was clicked and 2. the structure PP-Projects was selected.
After the structure is selected, the Short name and Code fields are automatically filled with the unchangeable client-specific prefix (in this example "PP"). Apart from these two prefixes, the Short name and Code can be chosen freely - but they must be unique within the company.
-
Short name
The short name of the project, including the prefix -
Name
The freely chosen, descriptive (long) name under which the project runs -
Code
A freely chosen combination of letters and numbers that, like the short name, begins with the prefix -
Structure
This means the path under which the respective project can be found. It also begins with the prefix. As a rule, only one structure is set up per client. -
Parent project
This parameter lets you specify whether the new project is subordinate to an existing one. As soon as a parent project has been selected, only Subproject can be selected in the Type dropdown. If a parent project is specified, the Top level column in the project master data sheet (see Overview) shows No.
The new project is also subsequently displayed beneath the parent project in hierarchical views (such as when searching for a project) (see the following screenshot):
-
Bookable
This checkbox determines whether authorized users should be able to book project time to this project. For more details, see Permissions -
Billable
Indicates whether this is a billable project (e.g., customer projects) or a non-billable project (e.g., internal projects) -
Default billability of efforts
This checkbox lets you specify for all project time bookings made to the corresponding project whether they are billable or not. The user can easily change this when booking (should non-billable services have to be booked to the project for some reason) -
Planned effort for this project (hours)
This is the number of hours expected to be needed to complete the project -
Planned effort for this and all subprojects (hours)
This means the time in hours assumed for this project including all of its subprojects.
For the project Customer Projects, this value is the sum of the planned effort for Customer Projects and the planned effort of its subproject, Workflow EDV
This value can be overwritten. -
Total of planned efforts for this and all subprojects
This shows the sum of the planned efforts for this project and all subprojects.
For the project Customer Projects, this value is the sum of the planned effort for Customer Projects and the planned effort of its subproject, Workflow EDV -
Description
Any text can be entered here to describe the project in more detail
When all fields have been filled in, you can create the project by clicking Save. Successful saving is confirmed with a corresponding message (Project 'XY' was saved successfully!). The project now appears in the project master data sheet and can be edited at any time.
Tab: Subprojects
This tab provides an overview of the project hierarchy (parent / child projects).
Example
First, a project is selected. To find your way around longer lists, you can search for the project and also sort by short name, name or code.
In the Subprojects tab, the corresponding subprojects (if any) are then displayed in bold beneath the selected project (in this case pp-Training).
Tab: Permissions
After you click this tab, the following form opens:
The proposed default configuration visible in the screenshot above specifies that:
- Standard users (members of the group PP-PTM-Usr) and standard managers (members of the group PP-PTM-Mgm) can only enter bookings on the selected project
- Project managers (members of the group PP-PTM-ProjMngr) and administrators (members of the group PP-PTM-Admin) also have the Reporting permission, which means they can run reports
Clicking Add permissions lets you add another permission to the table. For example, individual people could also be assigned the Book permission, or individual people could be excluded from booking / reporting on this project using the Negative permission.
Explanation of the table columns:
-
Permission type
The permission can be applied at different scopes: - for the entire client (company)
- for a specific group (department)
- for an individual person (employee in a group)
- for a role (all employees with a specific role assignment)
-
Performer
Depending on which permission type was selected, you can choose from a list or enter - the client
- the group
- the person
- or the role that is to receive the permissions to be selected next
-
Inherit
Available only for permission type Group! A check mark for this parameter means that the configured permissions also apply to all subgroups of the selected group. -
Negative
This can be used, for example, to exclude individual groups or people from the permission -
Book
All performers with a check mark here can book project time to the respective project -
Rebook
This function is currently not used -
Modify
This function is currently not used -
Valid from and Valid to
These parameters let you limit the validity period of the permissions - if nothing is entered, the current date and 01/01/3000 are assumed automatically -
Delete
Clicking the Delete icon deletes a permission (in the corresponding row)
Tabs: Activities, Customers, Cost Objects, Attributes
These tabs are used only in special cases at the customer's request.


Keine Kommentare vorhanden.