Groups

General

The groups of a company make it possible to combine employees into different units. These groups are used to model organizational and cost accounting aspects, e.g.:

The assignment of the group to the organizational structure indicates whether the group is a hierarchical organizational unit (see hierarchical organization!), a project group, a cost center or a loose group.

A group is defined by at least the following properties:

Groups that belong to a hierarchical organizational structure have the following additional properties:

If the group is part of a hierarchical organization, additional relationship options to other groups are available: These relationships are regulated, for example, by specifying a "top-level group in the structure" or a superordinate or subordinate group.
If a superordinate group is selected, all other groups appear in the organizational chart as subordinate to this group. A superordinate group can have several subgroups beneath it.

Groups that model a cost center structure usually have no relationships to each other (i.e. no parent/child relationships as with hierarchical organizational units). It can be configured whether an employee can belong to only one cost center at a time.

Members of groups are persons. For hierarchical groups, a person must be assigned to exactly ONE group at a time. A new assignment of a person to a hierarchical group causes this person to lose membership in their previous hierarchical group.
If the group is a loose group or a project group, persons can be members of several such groups at the same time!

The assignment of employees to a group can be planned in advance by specifying the validity date of the respective employee in a group (temporary or permanent group assignment). For example, it can be planned that an employee who is assigned to group A is to be assigned to another group (group B) as of a certain date (valid from - to).
A person's membership in a group is always stored with history. This means that a person can join such a group or "leave" it again as of a certain date. This membership can then be correctly taken into account historically in evaluations. Groups can furthermore receive action permissions and become holders of roles.

Groups Menu Item - Overview

Searching for a Group

Creating a New Group

New groups are usually created in Time & Attendance and then synchronized into Webdesk.
If you want to create a new group of your own in Webdesk > New group:

After saving, you receive the confirmation from the server. You are taken automatically to the tabs: superordinate group, subgroups, roles, persons, action permissions, in the scope of competence of this role.

Assigning Roles to Groups

With this tab, certain role functions can be assigned to the newly created group (e.g. role Colleague).
Roles make it possible to allow or restrict access to certain areas and functions > this is controlled via the parameter competence target (All, Person, Group).
You select the role from the predefined selection, likewise a competence target for this role, the validity period using the calendar function, and optionally specify the ranking.

Assigning Action Permissions to Groups

Action permissions can be assigned to the respective groups, as can certain roles. All employees of this group then have this action permission or are holders of the assigned role(s).

Further configuration options:

Scope of Competence

The tab "In the scope of competence of this role" gives an overview of the role assignments and responsibilities for the selected group.

Here you can search for specific roles or role holders:

Assigning Persons to a Group

Removing Persons from a Group

Deleting a Group

A group can be deleted only if it has no subgroups. You can check this by selecting the corresponding group from the overview, then clicking the Subgroups tab. If subgroups exist, the group cannot be deleted. The Delete button is not displayed either. In this case, the best approach is as follows:

If there are no subgroups, the Delete button is displayed automatically.

Synchronization of Groups from the Time & Attendance System

If a Time & Attendance system is used in the company, the group data is usually imported from it. For this, connectors are used, which perform a synchronization or reconciliation between a backend system (e.g. Time & Attendance or payroll system) and Webdesk.

The data is synchronized automatically with the help of a dedicated job. If the group data in the backend system changes, the changes are reconciled (depending on the job configuration) with the existing group data in Webdesk and adjusted if necessary.
After the reconciliation, all groups from the Time & Attendance system should also be found in Webdesk.

For more details, see the menu item Connectors and the menu item Jobs as well as the training materials in the chapter "Setting up synchronization".