To make changes to existing persons, for example assigning a person to a different group, granting new action permissions, or changing the validity period for certain permissions, select the Persons menu item. Use the search function to find the desired person, click the edit icon to open the detail view, and get an overview of all relevant data.
Person master data that comes from the time tracking system (IF6020) should also be changed there: e.g., name changes, group membership (for hierarchical groups, membership in loose groups such as part-time, flat-rate employee, etc.), termination of employment, etc. These changes are made in the time tracking system and synchronized to Webdesk by means of a job.
Former employees are flagged by means of special info fields in the time tracking system (e.g., certain stpinfo fields in the IF6020); the synchronization imports only the current data into Webdesk (according to the configuration).
To change the name of an existing person (e.g., after a marriage, etc.), select the person from the person directory and change the name as desired (by overwriting the name in the Last name row). Then click the "Save & Close" button to return to the overview of all persons, or "Save" if you want to continue editing the form.
We recommend making a name change in the time tracking system first. This change is then synchronized to Webdesk.
A change of membership in a hierarchical group (department) should likewise be made in the time tracking system. Various other group memberships, such as part-time, parental leave, flat-rate employee, etc., are also assigned there and are then synchronized to Webdesk.
To change the group membership directly in Webdesk, click the Groups tab and select the new group and the validity period. Then click the "Save & Close" button to return to the overview of all persons, or "Save" if you want to continue editing the form.
To assign a new role or delete an existing role assignment, select the corresponding person and open the Roles tab.
To assign a new role, select the corresponding role, the competence target, the validity period, and the ranking (2nd = substitute, etc.)
To delete an existing role, activate the check box next to the corresponding role. Then click the button "Save & Close" to return to the overview, or "Save" if you want to continue editing the form.
To add new action permissions to a person, select the new action permission on the Action Permissions tab, along with the period for which it is to be valid and the viewing permission. Then click Save or Save & Close.
To delete an existing action permission from a person, activate the check box at the far right of the corresponding action. Clicking Save or Save & Close removes the action permission from the directory.
Normally, new employees are first created in the time tracking system (e.g., IF6020) and then synchronized to Webdesk.
To create a new person in Webdesk, click the "New Person" button bar and fill in the provided fields with the first name and last name. In addition, all master data can be entered on the Settings tab:
After all fields have been filled in, click the "Save & Close" button to return to the overview of all persons, or "Save" if you want to continue editing the form.
After saving, a confirmation is displayed in the title bar and the entered data is shown.
You can then automatically assign the person to groups, assign a role, grant action permissions, and determine who is in the area of competence of this role holder.
You can either click Save or Save & Close after each individual step, or do so only at the end, after the last action you wish to perform.
To assign a newly created person to a specific group, click the Groups tab. Based on the organizational chart, you can then select a new group from the predefined group selection, along with its validity period.
To assign a role to a newly created person, click the Roles tab and select the desired role, the competence target (All, Person, Group), the validity period, and the desired ranking.
This tab allows you to grant action permissions and to define the validity period and the viewing permission (own person, org unit / + subordinate, specific, own client, all clients).
Clicking the In the Area of Competence of These Role Holders tab gives you an overview of all role holders who have role responsibility for the selected person.
To delete a person from the person directory in Webdesk, select the person concerned and click the "Delete" button (located at the right of the button bar). As a safety check, a message appears asking whether you really want to delete the person.
Confirming with the OK button deletes the person. The person also no longer appears in the group overview (persons assigned to a specific group).
The other option is to delete the employee in the time tracking system and then update the Webdesk data by synchronizing it.