Practical Examples: Roles

Maintaining Existing Roles

An existing role can be edited as needed by clicking the edit icon. This opens the detail view, where you can edit the role as desired.

The following changes can be made to an existing role:

In addition, changes are possible on the Persons, Groups, and Actions tabs. A detailed description of these tabs can be found under Creating a New Role.

Creating a New Role

To create a new role, click the "New Role" button bar and fill in the form provided. Then click the "Save & Close" button bar to return to the overview of all roles, or "Save" if you want to continue editing the form.

The process can be canceled at any time by clicking the "Delete" or "Back" button.

After a new role has been created, a confirmation from the server is displayed, and you automatically get the option to assign persons, groups, and actions to the new role by clicking the corresponding tab.

Persons Tab

On the Persons tab, specific persons are stored for a role. This person is responsible as role holder for All (the entire company), for a specific person, or for a specific group (selection of the competence target). The validity period (valid from – to) and the ranking within the role are also defined for the role holder.

Assigning Persons to a Role

To assign a specific person to a role, click the person selection and you get the alphabetically sorted list of persons. Select the desired person from this list.

Deleting Persons from Roles

On the Persons tab, role holders (persons) that have already been selected can also be deleted. To do so, activate the check box by clicking it. Then click "Save" or "Save & Close"

Selecting the Competence Target

Possible competence targets are Person, Group, All.
If you select a group as the competence target, an additional tab opens, from which you can select the desired group.
The same applies if you want to select a person as the competence target.

Groups Tab

On the Groups tab, specific groups are stored for a role. This group is responsible as role holder for All (the entire company), for a specific person, or for a specific group (selection of the competence target). The validity period (valid from – to) and the ranking within the role are also defined for the group as role holder.

The same conditions apply to the selection of the competence target for a group as on the Persons tab.

Actions Tab

The Actions tab allows you to assign the permission for various actions to the role holders and to define the validity period and the viewing permission.

The following parameters are available for defining the viewing permission (default):

Exceptions

Searching for a Role

To find a specific role, you can search by name, description, or client. To do so, fill in the desired field, click Search, and you get the desired role or a selection of similar roles.

Clicking the edit icon takes you to the detail view of the desired role.

Deleting a Role

To delete an existing role, select it from the overview and then click the "Delete" button bar. As a safety check, a popup appears asking whether this role should really be deleted. Clicking the OK button deletes the role, and it no longer appears in the role overview.